Back to Baseline

Aunt Flow arrived this weekend for the first time in four months. This means my HCG (pregnancy) hormone is back to zero. My body no longer thinks I am pregnant. It’s been about 5 weeks since my D&C. The doctor told me it normally takes about 4 weeks. It took my friend 8 weeks to get her levels back to zero, so I’ll take 5 weeks. Now, we are back at the baseline. We could start treatment again this cycle, but I don’t want to. We are going on vacation next week and I just need to be for a little. I need to relax. I don’t want to worry about mediciations, injections, and appointments. I think the stress of the last few months has finally caught up with me and is manifesting itself physically.

A few years ago, we bought our house and I started a new job at the same time. The stress of the situation was giving me heart palpitations. I would get them every night consistently for about 20 minutes. I went to my family doctor. They did an EKG, which was normal, and put me on Beta Blockers. I took them every day for 3 months and the palpitations stopped. I weened myself off of them and haven’t had any issues since, until recently. Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve noticed the fluttering increase. I would occassionally get a little flutter here and there but recently, I’ve gotten quite a few throughout the day. Some close together and others spread out, but more than usual. I went back to my family doctor and they did another EKG, which was normal. So they recommended that I have a Holter monitor put on for 24 hours so they can record my palpitations. As I sit here and write this, I am hooked up to the monitor. I have to press a botton to log every time I have a palpitation. I have to then write in a log when I had the palpitation, what I was doing, and my symptoms. Fun times!

My family has a history of heart murmurs, so I am hoping it is most likely related to that and stress just exacerbates it. I was also having little dizzy spells here and there. But I think that is attributed to stress/anxiety about my miscarriage and heart palpitations. Or it could be related to the fact that my HCG levels were back at zero and Aunt Flow’s arrival was approaching.

Today, I feel better, barely any dizzy spells, but still with the palpitations. I think this is just my body’s way of telling me I need a break. I need to really take a break from it all; work, infertility, the miscarriage, blood work, needles, stress, anxiety. I need to just take some time and reset. This vacation next week can’t come soon enough. I’m ready to just relax with my family and decompress. A lot has happened in the last 6 months and I think I am due a little vacation to relax and recuperate.

image

I will desperately miss this little baby while away though. 💕

Leave a Reply

